Q1. Should table CT-3 DR result that is currently 5-6 be 5-9 instead to reflect the possible +3 modifier with a roll of 6?
A1: I changed it from 5-6 to 5+
Q2. On table TZ-2 it took me a while to figure out that the modifiers for no FLAK radar was based on target weather. For some reason that wasn’t obvious to me.
A2: “Weather” added and it reads now IF NO FLAK RADAR: Lead Flight: +1; Weather – Poor: -2; Bad: -3; Very Bad: -5;
Q3a. The group run evaluation is cool, but I was confused by it. Application of the modifiers wasn’t always clear to me. Specifically, table TZ-5b says to check AP for each flight in my box with +1. Does this mean I ignore all of the modifires on TZ-1? It would seem to me like the target size would still apply.
A3a: Yes, ignore all modifiers on TZ-1. I like that you also used Target Size. I will add that.
Q3b. Also, do I add the percentages in the modifiers listed on TZ-5b to what I roll?
A3b: Do you mean TZ-5a? Those are added to the result on TZ-5a, under 250 or 500 feet. See 184.108.40.206 You find modifiers which you add to the dice roll, %-age or both. The %-age can increase or decrease your final score.
Q3c. What does “0” in the off target column of TZ-5b mean?
A3c: If TZ-5a, Off Target is 0 add %-age from Bombing by Boxes/Flight and Player (see bottom of TZ-5a).
Q4. Table MT-1a, what does note d? “Check information on certain counters.” mean?
A4: On page 5 in the Flight Manual you can find an explanation to this. Today I also changed d) to read “See General Information on Counters, Flight Manual, Page 5” which I hope makes note d) easier to understand.
Q5. A.7.2.6 note references in the flight manual look out of sync. It looks to me like the note references in the rules don’t match the table notes. Item 4 in the list associated with A.7.2.6 references note e) on table TZ-3a and talks about being Out of Formation. When I look at table TZ-3a note d) is the Out of Formation reference. Similarly, item 5 references note f) when it looks like it is note e) in the table.
A5: It has been corrected.
Q6. Wasn’t clear to me how to handle fighter support when I was knocked out of formation by FLAK as I was exiting the target zone. Do I use the support-out of formation, or the formation fighter support? I used the support-out of formation table.
A6: You used the optional table and were correct. Use CT-1d (Optional) Out of Formation Fighter Support when out of formation. If you use the Core Game Rule 7.45.10 Fighter Cover when flying Out of Formation Area Cover does not change. Close Escort Fighter Cover is not available.
Q7. Successive attacks in 7.45.7 of the rules references 220.127.116.11. Think it should be 18.104.22.168.
A7: Yes, that is correct. I have missed that. Has been corrected!
Q8. When I determine enemy fighter status and roll a Kaczmarek, does that mean the enemy fighter doesn’t attack as long as I’m in formation? In this case I was out of formation and b) on CT-2a seemed to infer that the plane pressed the attack with a Green pilot which is what I did.
A8: That is correct. As long as you are in formation the Kaczmarek will not attack. I added this status to increase survivability and to try to give the player a stronger sense of flying in a formation when enemy fighters can attack the other bombers also, not just the player’s ship. The Kaczmarek is a fighter who does not attack the player’s ship. When you are out of formation all bandits will be attackers and what you did on this mission was correct.
Q9. I assume that the FLAK modifier for the Mission and Target Details box comes from the target list. If this is mentioned somewhere I missed it.
A9: There are flak modifiers for some targets in the target lists in the FLAK Column, and also on MP-3, Initial Point.
Q10. Table MP-7. Does the “+1 fighter at XX” mean I add an additional fighter to the battle board when the initial fighter comes from the noted position if EAR is HEAVY?
A10: Yes, that is correct, if you are referring to note f, g, h, k and n. Box II, Tail group (note j) always has an extra fighter when attacks come from 5,6 &7.
Q11. Table CT-2a. Looks like it’s possible to obtain a result below 2 with the appropriate roll modifiers. Should the table show on the first entry to accommodate this?
A11: I have changed it to 0-3.
Q12. Table CT-2a. If I roll fighter pilot status of Kaczmarek does that mean the fighter does not actually attack your aircraft? The rules (A.7.30.1) seemed to imply that and that’s how I played it.
A12: That is correct. (See also #8 above.)
Q13a. If the attacking fighter has a 30mm cannon and I’m resolving the number of hits on TZ-3b do I resolve the area hit on TZ-3c or CT-5c. I used CT-5c.
A13a: CT-5c is correct.
Q13b. Also, how do you handle TZ-3b note (b)? I assumed all the hits were in the same are determined in CT-5c.
A13b: I did not think about this when it comes to the 30mm. All hits in the same area on CT-5c is correct. I have added that to note b).
Q14. TZ-5b. In the last paragraph, do you mean to say that you check AP for each Lead Flight in each Box?
A14: Yes, when bombing by boxes you make one AP check for each box and when bombing by flights you make one AP check for each flight. (TZ-5b has been revised. Please check the attached image.)
Q15a. My crew was forced to bailout prior to the bomb run by a fighter attack. So my aircraft is out of the game. Is it your view that I continue with the mission and roll for target damage with the rest of the group? I’m thinking yes, just for campaign continuity.
A15a: If you are shot down before or on the bomb run, use TZ-5b for the boxes.
Q15b. If so, do I roll for the lead bombardiers flight on TZ-4a and the rest of the flights on TZ-4b?
A15b: If you have created a Pilot and Bombardier for all Flight Leaders, you can use TZ-4a. If you use the Core Game rules, where you only have your own crew, you will use TZ-4b for all flights or boxes. There are no rules for creating other crews in B-26, but with table AM-3 (After the Mission Table 3) you can create lead crews for all your flights. It covers only Bombardiers and Navigators, but you can use it to create pilots too.
Q16. Half of my crew was returned to England by the underground after a successful bailout. Is it your intent for the player to carry them over to the next aircraft crew?
A16: I have now added to Bailout Table 2a (BO-2a) Bailout Landing: The procedure of returning a rescued airman back to England or sent back to the US to be rotated to another therater of war will not be covered in B-26. It could take several weeks or months for a rescued airman to return to England and in B-26 it will be simplified as follows and not entirely historically correct: Roll D6 for the number of weeks (1 to 6) it will take for the airman to return to England, and then another D6 to see if he will return to the group or be sent to the US for another assignment; 1-4: The airman stays with the group and will become a member of another crew, eg. the Player’s crew. 5-6: The airman is sent to the US.
Q17. I’m leaving the target zone and rolled for FLAK. I rolled a 9 on table TZ-3a under the accurate column resulting in a hit with two notes, d) and e). I don’t understand what the notes are directing me to do. Any hints?
A17: Notes d and e refer to rule A.7.2.6 Me 262 and the R4M.
Q18. Well, I’ve had the unfortunate honor of suffering a BIP FLAK hit while inbound to bomb the target in Mission 3. The BIP table, TZ-3d said to roll on TZ-3c. On TZ-3c I rolled a 9, Aft Bomb Bay/Armorer’s Station so I went to DT-7. On DT-7 I rolled a 12, superficial damage. Does that mean that I can ignore all of the ominous impact described in section 8.5.2 of the rules?
A18: What it means is that you roll on TZ-3c to see in which section of the bomber the BIP hits. You rolled Aft Bomb Bay/Armorer’s Station and that entire area is affected by the BIP. (See rule 8.5.2 for closer information about the effect of a BIP.)